Would You Like To Read a Poorly Written Version of ‘Paper Cuts’?

“I love deadlines. I like the whooshing sound they make as they fly by.” – Douglas Adams

Douglas Adams, genius though he was, was notoriously bad with deadlines. I thrive on them. Hell, I need them otherwise I flounder around in a cloud of work displacement activity. My office window isn’t going to stare out of itself, y’know.

You know how bad I am without deadlines? I meant to write this blog post last week, but… well… shiny objects got in the way… Ooh.. Squirrel!

Anyway. The serialising of ‘How To Be Dead’ was great for me as a writer. It focused my attention away from looking up 80′s sitcoms on Wikipedia (Today was ‘Three Up, Two Down’ starring the lovely Lysette Anthony *Sigh*) and onto getting the work finished for publication each Friday. I also enjoyed the interaction with the readers. The work wasn’t being produced in a vacuum with me wondering whether what I was scribbling down was good, bad or indifferent.

So, here’s my idea. Would you like to be a Beta Reader for ‘Paper Cuts’? I’m thinking of a small group of about 10. I’ll provide you with a chapter a week via email for you to read and feed back on? Nothing too intense, just your comments and feelings on how it’s all going and what does/doesn’t work?

We probably need a few guidelines.

1. You’ll need to be 18 or over.

2. You’ll need to have read ‘How To Be Dead’.

3. You’ll be OK to read 1,500-2,000 words a week of my ramblings for about 20 weeks starting 28th February.

4. If you’re in the London area, I’ll organise drinks when it’s done and I’ll buy you a pint.

Interested? Well, why not click on the contact page and drop me a line?

Thanks very much!

Love

Dave

x

